Quality and Safety Information

National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) in collaboration with the Australian Government, states and territories, the private sector, clinical experts, patients and carers. The primary aim of the NSQHS Standards are to protect the public from harm and to improve the quality of health service provision. They provide a quality assurance mechanism that tests whether relevant systems are in place to ensure that expected standards of safety are met.

There are eight NSQHS Standards, that provide a nationally consistent statement about the standard of care consumers can expect from their health service organisation.

The eight NSQHS Standards are:

  • Clinical Governance
  • Partnering with Consumers
  • Preventing and Controlling Healthcare-Associated Infections
  • Medication Safety
  • Comprehensive Care
  • Communicating for Safety
  • Blood Management
  • Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration

Patients can request a copy of our By Laws and Open Disclosure Statement via email:

Click here to email Caulfield Endoscopy
Please visit the link below to review the areas covered in The Standards: http://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/our-work/accreditation/nsqhss/

What improvements have we made?

Learn more and provide some feedback to us.